CMP Awards over $300,000 in Scholarships for 2024-2025

The Civilian Marksmanship Program’s (CMP) Scholarship Committee has presented 142 scholarships to outstanding junior marksmen and women for the 2024-2025 school year.

Along with a generous $30,000 contribution from the Garand Collectors Association (GCA), the CMP Scholarship Program awarded $308,000 in new and recurring scholarships to those remarkable individuals from across the country who best represent the ideals of the CMP – 76 one-time $1,000 scholarships, 17 one-time $3,000 scholarships and 24 one-time $5,000 scholarships.

Students receiving the $5,000 one-time scholarships are Jordyn Allen (Dothan, AL), Susan Carter (Baxley, GA), Rory Claussen (Albuquerque, NM), Grace Corbett (Springfield, VA), Colter Cornwell (Ronan, MT), Gracie Dinh (Huntsville, AR), Riley Dunn (Washington, PA), Ena Gibson (Greeley, CO), Nicolette Hoffman (Armour, SD), Megan Jaros (Roseville, MN), Katie McCall (Ozark, MO), Mallory Johnson (Cookeville, TN), Evan Langerak (Bemidji, MN), David LePage (Champlain, NY), Elizabeth Probst (Brady, TX), Chloe Shannon (Broken Arrow, OK), Donald Simpson (Sidney, OH), Hailey Singleton (Bellevue, OH), Emma Sjodin (Sugar Land, TX), Judson Terry (Rochelle, GA), Logan Tucker (Naylor, AR), Carlee Valenta (Harrison City, PA), Micah Vawter (Walla Walla, WA) and Emme Walrath (Kenosha, WI).

The CMP also granted four new repeat $5,000 scholarships, totaling $20,000 over four years for each recipient. Each of the four recurring $20,000 scholarships, first introduced in 2023, are named in honor of past CMP Board members Harry Sieben, Carolyn Hines, Jon Bengston and former Chair Judith Legerski.

Earning this year’s four-year recurring scholarships are:

  • Harry Sieben Scholarship: Claudia Muzik (Green Springs, OH)
  • Carolyn Hines Scholarship: Danjela Jordan de Jesus (Woodbine, GA)
  • Jon Bengston Scholarship: Natalie Bean (Sour Lake, TX)
  • Judith Legerski Scholarship: Meredith Stuart (Comfort, TX)

An additional $5,000 from the Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama was donated towards CMP’s Community Scholarship – reserved for those students in the districts surrounding CMP’s facilities in Anniston/Talladega, Ala., and Port Clinton (Camp Perry), Ohio.

This year’s $5,000 donation from the Superspeedway has been awarded to Peyton Whitelaw (Oxford, AL). A total of 16 other $1,000 Community Scholarships were awarded, marking $21,000 overall for CMP’s support of neighboring areas.

To review all the selected applicants, view the CMP Scholarship Program page at Congratulations!

About the CMP Scholarship Program:

CMP Scholarships are available to graduating high school JROTC, 4-H and other junior shooting club members. Scholarship applications are only accepted if they are received completed and if the applicant is a U.S. citizen, shows good moral character, is a contributing member to society and is a scholar marksman.

The CMP is dedicated to youth programs and furthering the education of the successful young adults involved within them and is proud to provide support to junior marksmen in their continuing education – helping to shape their fulfilling futures. Through these scholarships, the CMP is able to uphold its goal of awarding those who present exceptional talent, determination and citizenship within the field of marksmanship.

Donate a Scholarship of Your Own! Alongside these annual scholarships, the CMP is also accepting donations to expand our Scholarship Program. If you would like to donate, please contact Greg Raines ( or Shannon Hand ( for more details. Thank you for your support of youth marksmanship!